10 things I did that you have probably not done

This was inspired by a post from John Scalzi (whatever.scalzi.com), who listed 10 interesting and unusual incidents from his life, and invited his readers to do the same. Here is my list:

* Rode on an ancient helicopter full of Marines, careening wildly at tree-top level.
* Recovered the corpse of a man who had drowned… four days prior. You wouldn’t believe the colors unless you saw it yourself.
* Broke my wrist playing cornerback in an American football game, then played the rest of the game.
* Watched in horror as my eight-year-old daughter accosted Steve Jobs on the show floor of MacWorld. (I was an Apple employee at the time.)
* Stayed in a house whose original timbers were laid in 1370. (It was my grandparents’ home in Sweden.)
* Wrote a program for the original Macintosh that sold eight copies.
* Carried buckets of water from the stream behind our house so we could use the bathroom. (The power was out to the well.)
* Did a voiceover appearance as Dan Rather reporting on a protest involving a giant condom stretched over the rotunda of a state capitol. (I still remember the phrase ‘enormous prophylactic’.)
* Had a recruiter call me to ask if I knew anything about Apple Help, and I replied that I wrote the book. (I did, too.)
* Had a cooling hose blow out in my car as I traveled down US 101 in California. I watched the cloud of steam streaming from under the hood as the temp climbed on the gauge. I pulled over, waited for the steam to dissipate, said “Please, Lord, let me get home.” Whereupon the temp immediately dropped back into the normal range and I was able to drive the three miles home without mishap or apparent damage to the car. (Yes, I replaced the hose and refilled the coolant.)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • liza  On October 28, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    I like this one a lot. Please refresh my memory about the whole steve jobs thing

  • ottojschlosser  On October 28, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    It was Lauren at MacWorld San Francisco in 1998.

Leave a Reply

